Allee du kaai Havenlaan 53, 1000 Brussel
Biestebroek (Anderlecht) Veeweydestraat 102-104, 1070 Anderlecht
Marie Moskou (St-Gillis) Moskoustraat, 1060 Sint Gillis
  • Past projects

    TOESTAND MÂCHE PRISTINA

    Summer 2016. Toestand joined forces with InfoQuartier Mâche (Switzerland) and Kosovo Architecture Foundation (Pristina). 25 Belgians, 15 Swiss and between 5 and 20 Kosovars spent a week building and reactivating the abandoned concrete structure of Termokos to become the local sociocultural center ‘Termokiss’. Project supported by the Erasmus+ programme.

    See more
    See less

    BUILD YOUR OWN PARK

    Spring 2015. The neighbourhood residents of Anneessens in Brussels don’t like their public space. The city doesn’t repair the lightbulbs, does not want to put benches and there’s no greenery around. The local organisation ‘Buurtwinkel’ organised a work weekend with Toestand where we transformed an abandoned plot into a garden for lonely people, built a massive bench with the younger generation and together with the local community built their own public space.

    See more
    See less

    TRANSFORMERS

    Summer 2015. Invited by Cultural Di@alogue, Toestand participated with 12 volunteers to the Transformers festival in Kremenchuk, Ukraine. Working with a big local team, we transformed a dilapidated cinema into a cultural youth spot the city was lacking. When the place didn’t prove winter proof, it popped up again in spring as ‘#Adapter’. Project supported by the Erasmus+ programme.

    See more
    See less

    PLEIN PUBLIC

    Summer 2015. After turning an abandoned plot into a wannabe-square (see  MOMENT #11), the Brussels’ Region asked us to continue working on it for the summer. Building with youngsters, elderly, hipsters and junkies, the place truly became a ‘public plein’. Project supported by the Brussels Capital Region.

    See more
    See less

    MOMENT #11

    Summer 2015. On the border of three Brussels’ districts once stood a warehouse (see La Bulle). When it burned down, turning it into a neighbourhood park only seemed logical. So we spent 2 days talking, building, painting, and an evening celebrating.

    See more
    See less

    KAK-TOESTANDEN

    Autumn 2015. The Periferia festival draws attention to the development of the fringe of Brussels. The Renault Factories in Vilvoorde have been empty for decades since the social massacre in the 90’s. Together with KAK, Toestand facilitated some KAK-Toestanden: performance in the atmosphere of the place’s early days.

    See more
    See less

    MOMENT #10

    Summer 2014. One week of messing around with scaffolding and alternative programmation, meant a new stage for the free festival Bruksellive.

    See more
    See less

    LA BULLE

    Summer 2013. An event planned on ‘4 murs sans toit’ could not happen there, so we found a warehouse to host it, together with Compilotheque, 123 and Gniak. It didn’t smell too nice, so we built a bubble inside, filled with fresh air from outside.

    See more
    See less

    FOR EVERYBODY BY EVERYBODY #2

    Winter 2013. Not having seen everybody in a while, everybody invited everybody again to come and enjoy a space together, and together make the event happen. This time, everybody invited everybody to visit an abandoned chocolate factory in the city centre.

    See more
    See less

    4 MURS SANS TOÎT

    Summer 2013. After a year of fruitless efforts getting permision to use a new building to host our project, we decided to build one ourselves. We found a large plot with 4 huge concrete walls around it. The owner agreed we used the space, until he turned out not to be the actual owner. So the fun stopped one week after it started.

    See more
    See less

    CC BRABANT

    Summer 2013. A neighbourhood in Brussels had a huge area of abandoned space. We came in, cleaned, invited the very happy neighbours for an evening dinner, and had to leave shortly before it started.

    See more
    See less

    Plek 322

    Summer 2012. The City of Vilvoorde thought it a good idea to give an about-to-be-demolished school for its last three months in the hands of 2 young organisations: Toestand and Goesting. And what a good idea it was. A summer of construction, workshops, moments and a great final party.

    See more
    See less

    FOR EVERYBODY BY EVERYBODY #1

    Winter 2012. An abandoned casino was the playground for a first experiment. Everybody invited everybody to come and enjoy the evening. It became a night where everybody shared food, drinks, clothes and where everybody entertained everybody. Participating was not just consuming, but producing the event simultaneously.

    See more
    See less

Allee du kaai Avenue du Port 53, 1000 Bruxelles
Biestebroek (Anderlecht) Rue Veeweyde 102-104, 1070 Anderlecht
Marie Moskou (St-Gillis) Rue Moscou, 1060 Saint-Gilles
  • Past projects

    TOESTAND MÂCHE PRISTINA

    Été 2016. Toestand collaborait avec InfoQuartier Mâche (Suisse) et Kosovo Architecture Foundation (Pristina). 25 Belges, 15 Suisses et 5 à 20 Kosovares transformaient ensemble une structure en béton de Termokos dans le centre alternatif socioculturel ‘Termokiss’. Projet soutenu par le programme Erasmus+.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    BUILD YOUR OWN PARK

    Printemps 2015. Les habitants et associations du quartier Anneesens étaient déçu de leur espace publique. La ville investi peu ou pas dans le mobilier urbain, l’éclairage n’est pas réparé et il y a à peine de la verdure. ‘Buurtwinkel’ a collaboré avec Toestand pour y transformer une friche en parc pour solitaires, pour construire un banc de vivre-ensemble et pour réapproprier l’espaces publique avec les habitants de quartier.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    TRANSFORMERS

    Été 2015. Cultural Di@alogue invitait Toestand pour participer au festival Transformers. Celle-ci ciblait à réactiver les structure soviets désaffectées. Pendant une semaine, 12 bénévoles Belges et quinzaine ukrainiens ont transformé un cinéma abandonné dans un centre de culture et jeunesse. Après l’hiver, le centre est déménagé et devenu #Adapter. Projet soutenu par le programme Erasmus+.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    PLEIN PUBLIC

    Été 2015. Après avoir transformé une friche en béton dans une place de quartier (voir  MOMENT #11), la Région Bruxelles-Capitale nous a demandé de continuer le projet pendant l’été. Avec des jeunes, des familles, des junkies et des hipsters, nous avons construits une place vraiment publique. Projet soutenu par la Région Bruxelles-Capitale.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    MOMENT #11

    Été 2015. Sur la limite de trois communes Bruxelloises étaient une fois un grand hangar (voir La Bulle). Celle-ci a brulé, et laissait donc une grande friche en béton. La transformer en parc de quartier ne semblait que logique. Nous étions donc sur la place pour un weekend, pour dessiner, construire, manger, et enfin fêter.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    KAK-TOESTANDEN

    Le festival Periferia attire l’attention à la péripherie Bruxelloise et ses développements urbains. Les usines Renault sont abandonnées depuis les années 90, et c’est dans cette atmosphère et ces batiments que KAK et Toestand organisaient KAK-Toestanden: des performances théatrales et surprennants.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    MOMENT #10

    Été 2014. Une semaine de bricolage avec des échafaudages et programmation de la musique alternative pour organiser un podium supplémentaire pour le festival gratuit Bruksellive.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    LA BULLE

    Été 2013. Un événement au ‘4 mûrs sans toit’ ne pouvait pas se faire, donc on devait trouver un nouvel endroit. Un grand hangar abandonné pourrait servir, mais ne sentait pas trop bon. On a donc construit en collaboration avec Compilothèque, 123 et Gniak une bulle remplis d’aire fraîche de l’extérieur.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    FOR EVERYBODY BY EVERYBODY #2

    Hiver 2013. Tout le monde n’avait pas vu tout le monde pour quelque temps. Donc tout le monde invitait tout le monde pour ensemble profiter d’un nouveau espace, en co-construisant l’évènement. Cette fois-ci, cela se déroulait dans une ancienne usine des chocolats en centre-ville.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    4 MURS SANS TOÎT

    Été 2014. Après un an de recherche infructueux pour un bâtiment qu’on pourrait occuper temporairement, on en avait marre. Donc on s’est construit notre propre bâtiment sur un terrain encadré par 4 murs en béton gigantesque. Ceci avec l’accord du propriétaire, qui malheureusement apparaissait pas le vrai propriétaire. Quand ce dernier arrivait, le projet était vite fini.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    CC BRABANT

    Été 2013. Un complexe énorme des bâtiments abandonnés dans un quartier Bruxellois. Nous sommes entrés, avons nettoyé et commencé à cuisiner pour les tables d’hôtes du quartier, et avons dû partir avant que cela a pu commencer.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    Plek 322

    Été 2012. La ville de Vilvorde mettait à disposition une école qui allait être démoli en septembre pour la durée de l’été. Toestand et Goesting ont pu l’occuper pour y organiser des ateliers, des moments et une grande fête finale.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins

    FOR EVERYBODY BY EVERYBODY #1

    Hiver 2012. Un casino abandonné servait comme laboratoire pour une premiere expérience. Tout le monde invitait tout le monde pour une soirée à partager. Toute la soirée, tout le monde profitait donc ensemble de nourriture, boissons, échangeait des vêtements et des opinions. Participer au évènement n’était pas une chose passif: tout le monde produisait l’évènement en participant.

    Voir plus
    Voir moins