Allee du kaai Havenlaan 53, 1000 Brussel
  • Future

    The Brussels canal is an area under development. Plenty of projects are set up, and the Materialenkaai is one of them. Materialenkaai runs along the Avenue du Port, opposite Thurn & Taxis. Brussels Environment, in cooperation with Beliris, convert it to a public pard of 3.20 hectares.

    Since the realization of this project is a long process, Brussels Environment already wants to give this dockside a temporary filling. This way the neighborhood can already start creating a social dynamic and offer a taste of what could be the future park. To manage this, “Allee Du Kaai” was established.

    “Allee Du Kaai”, project of ngo Toestand and Brussels Environment, wants to be a fun & informal meeting place where social, cultural and sporting initiatives can be developed and supported. This place is a temporary space where, waiting for the completion of the park, the residents can come into contact with social, cultural and artistic associations of the Brussels-Capital Region.

    It is the first time in the Brussels region that a public authority developed a project of temporary use. Brussels Environment and ngo Toestand want to start as early as possible to involve the public in the creation of new public spaces, so the neighborhood will have the chance to discover the given space. The focus therefore is primarily on the process that occurs, rather than the final result.

    images

    Biestebroek (Anderlecht) Veeweydestraat 102-104, 1070 Anderlecht
    Marie Moskou (St-Gillis) Moskoustraat, 1060 Sint Gillis

Allee du kaai Avenue du Port 53, 1000 Bruxelles
  • Avenir

    La zone du canal à Bruxelles est en pleine évolution. De nombreux projets voient le jour, parmi lesquels le Quai des Matériaux. Le Quai des Matériaux longe l’avenue du Port, en face de Tour & Taxis. En collaboration avec Beliris, Bruxelles Environnement va transformer ce quai en un parc public de 3,20 ha.

    La réalisation d’un tel projet est un travail de longue haleine, en attendant Bruxelles Environnement a voulu occuper les lieux en créant une dynamique sociale. Un avant-goût de ce que le futur parc pourrait devenir. C’est dans cette optique que l' »Allee Du kaai » est mise sur pied.

    « Allee Du Kaai » est un projet de l’asbl Toestand et de Bruxelles Environnement, qui entend être un lieu de rencontre ludique et informel, où des initiatives sociales, culturelles & sportives peuvent être développées et soutenues. Cet endroit est un espace provisoire où, dans l’attente du parc, les habitants peuvent entrer en contact avec des associations sociales, culturelles et artistiques de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

    C’est la première fois qu’un service public développe et assure le suivi d’une occupation provisoire en Région bruxelloise. Bruxelles Environnement et l’asbl Toestand veulent impliquer le plus tôt possible la population dans la création de nouveaux espaces publics afin que le quartier ait l’occasion de s’approprier véritablement l’espace. L’accent est donc mis davantage sur le processus que sur le résultat final. L’asbl Toestand a en outre été invitée par le Gouvernement flamand à transposer ce processus dans un ouvrage de référence qui, espérons-le, encouragera l’occupation provisoire des terrains vagues.

    Photos

    Biestebroek (Anderlecht) Rue Veeweyde 102-104, 1070 Anderlecht
    Marie Moskou (St-Gillis) Rue Moscou, 1060 Saint-Gilles